2019: An Historic Year for Womens AFL in Ireland

And an incredible 2019 for AFL Ireland Women’s comes to an end!

A quick review of the year in chronological order

AIT (Athlone Institute of Technology) win the first ever AFL Ireland Women’s Universities Cup, with 6 University Teams competing.
University Shamrocks win Lep Cup in Belfast.
AFL Ireland Women’s City Blitz sees new 7’s teams play for the first time . South Dublin Swans, Liffey Blues, North Leinster Giants (rejuvenation team) , West Dublin Garrisons join Dublin Angels.
West Dublin Garrisons compete for the first time in a major comp at the Australian Tax Super 7’s League.
Midland Tigers ( rejuvenation team) compete for the first time.
West Clare Waves win Australian Tax Super 7’s League.
Ailish Considine makes history in becoming the first Irish player to win an AFL Women’s Premiership with Adelaide Crows.
West Clare Waves win AFL Europe Champions League in Amsterdam for the second year in a row.
Irish Universities defeat Great Britain University All Stars at the National Sports Campus to win the Universities International Cup in the first ever Universities Test Match Played anywhere in the global footy community.
Irish Banshees win the AFL Europe Euro Cup in Nortalje, Sweden for the second year in a row.
Cill Dara Sharks joins the Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership which sees an expanded competition with 5 teams.
West Clare Waves win the Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership, in association with the Irish Australian Chamber of Commerce & the Australian Embassy for the second year in a row.
The number of Irish Players signed to play in AFL Women’s 2020 grows to 18☘️ .
Irish Banshees win the AFL Europe European Championships in London.
It’s been a huge year and there’s an even bigger one on the way!

(Source: https://www.instagram.com/aflirelandwomens/ )


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *